Running My Little Heart Out.

I completed 9 miles this morning! This will be the longest run I do until the race, although I will have shorter and shorter jogs. (I’m planning on completing the runs in the following order: 6 miles, 4 miles, 3 miles, 2 miles.) I can’t believe the race is only two weeks away.

Two weeks away!

I can’t wait to run, but also to visit my nation’s capital and of course see my family. This will be exciting, nerve-wracking, exhausting, and busy, but strangely enough, I also think it will be the break that I need. My life has been a whirlwind since this academic year started and I haven’t really had a chance to digest it. Traveling always helps me with that, and so I’m looking forward to using this Nike weekend as a chance to take a big, figurative breath, before I head back to my crazy life.

I’ve also decided that, while I love running, I’ll probably need some time off after the half marathon. I’ve agreed to do a 5k with my mom in July (it’s called something adorable, like the Firecracker 5k, I think), but in between the half marathon and the 5k, I’ll be swimming. Summer’s coming and the heat is, too, so the timing will be perfect for me.

This will be my last post relating to the half marathon until after it’s done. Wish me luck!

Leave a comment