Alice’s Angels.

There’s something I have not mentioned about the half marathon I’m training for, and I feel like it deserves its own post. There are several obvious reasons that I would want to run this race – to prove to myself that I can, to see the family members I love so dearly, the Tiffany necklace that is apparently handed out at the end, to visit my nation’s capital for the first time, etc. Yada yada yada. ┬áBut there is another reason, an important reason, that I would want to attend and complete this race.

The 2014 Nike Women’s Half Marathon benefits the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I believe that all of the Nike Women’s Series benefit the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, actually (better not quote me on that). Part of the proceeds will go to one of the largest organizations on cancer research (I don’t know how much of the proceeds. Don’t ask too much of me. It’s still a super cool thing that Nike is doing this, ok.)

Sparknotes translation: this is a charity run. But it comes with a special meaning to it, as my grandmother on my mother’s side had leukemia. It took her life, on the 27th of April. The day of the Nike Women’s Half Marathon.

My aunts, mother, and cousins will travel from different parts of the country on the weekend of the 27th to run the half marathon. To do so on a day that commemorates my grandmother is an honor, and I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that my family was very moved when we realized what the day of the race meant for our family. We have named our team Alice’s Angels as tribute to her. Fitting, I think.

How many other runners will be participating for the same reason? How many will have a brother, wife, cousin, daughter, friend with leukemia? I have no way of knowing. But, needless to say, my reason for this half marathon makes me appreciate and anticipate the race only that much more.

Leave a Reply

